European Central Bank - eurosystem
Search Options
Home Publication Explainers Statistics Payments Career Monetary Policy
Sort by
Níl an t-ábhar seo ar fáil i nGaeilge.

General Council

The General Council comprises the President and the Vice-President of the ECB and the governors of the national central banks (NCBs) of the EU Member States.

In other words, the General Council includes representatives of all euro area countries and all non-euro area countries in the EU.

The other members of the ECB's Executive Board, the President of the EU Council and one member of the European Commission may attend the meetings of the General Council but do not have the right to vote.


The General Council can be regarded as a transitional body. It carries out the tasks taken over from the European Monetary Institute which the ECB is required to perform in Stage Three of Economic and Monetary Union on account of the fact that not all EU Member States have adopted the euro yet.
The General Council also contributes to:

  • the ECB's advisory functions;
  • the collection of statistical information;
  • the preparation of the ECB's annual report;
  • the establishment of the necessary rules for standardising the accounting and reporting of operations undertaken by the NCBs;
  • the taking of measures relating to the establishment of the key for the ECB's capital subscription other than those laid down in the Treaty;
  • the laying-down of the conditions of employment of the members of staff of the ECB; and
  • the necessary preparations for irrevocably fixing the exchange rates of the currencies of the "EU Member States with a derogation" against the euro.

In accordance with the Statute of the European System of Central Banks and of the European Central Bank, the General Council will be dissolved once all EU Member States have introduced the single currency.


Christine Lagarde

Uachtarán BCE

Luis de Guindos

Leas-Uachtarán BCE

Pierre Wunsch

Gobharnóir, Nationale Bank van België / Banque Nationale de Belgique

Dimitar Radev

Gobharnóir, Banc Náisiúnta na Bulgáire

Aleš Michl

Gobharnóir, Česká národní banka

Christian Kettel Thomsen

Gobharnóir, Danmarks Nationalbank

Joachim Nagel

Uachtarán, Deutsche Bundesbank

Madis Müller

Gobharnóir, Eesti Pank

Gabriel Makhlouf

Gobharnóir, Banc Ceannais na hÉireann

Yannis Stournaras

Gobharnóir, Banc na Gréige

Pablo Hernández de Cos

Gobharnóir, Banco de España

François Villeroy de Galhau

Gobharnóir, Banque de France

Boris Vujčić

Gobharnóir, Hrvatska narodna banka

Fabio Panetta

Gobharnóir, Banca d'Italia

Constantinos Herodotou

Gobharnóir, Banc Ceannais na Cipire

Mārtiņš Kazāks

Gobharnóir, Latvijas Banka

Gediminas Šimkus

Cathaoirleach an Bhoird, Lietuvos bankas

Gaston Reinesch

Gobharnóir, Banque centrale du Luxembourg

György Matolcsy

Gobharnóir, Magyar Nemzeti Bank

Edward Scicluna

Gobharnóir, Banc Ceannais Mhálta

Klaas Knot

Uachtarán, De Nederlandsche Bank

Robert Holzmann

Gobharnóir, Oesterreichische Nationalbank

Adam Glapiński

Gobharnóir, Narodowy Bank Polski

Mário Centeno

Gobharnóir, Banco de Portugal

Mugur Constantin Isărescu

Gobharnóir, Banca Națională a României

Boštjan Vasle

Gobharnóir, Banka Slovenije

Peter Kažimír

Gobharnóir, Národná banka Slovenska

Olli Rehn

Gobharnóir, Suomen Pankki - Finlands Bank

Erik Thedéen

Gobharnóir, Sveriges Riksbank

Gach leathanach sa rannóg seo