Joining the euro area

All EU Member States, except Denmark and the United Kingdom, are required to adopt the euro as their currency and join the euro area. To do so, they must fulfil the “convergence criteria”.

Cash changeover in Lithuania

The euro - Our Money

On 1 January 2015 Lithuania became the 19th member of the euro area. The irrevocably fixed exchange rate is €1= LTL 3.45280.

Map of the euro area