Wim Duisenberg Fellowship

This programme is named after the first President of the ECB and aimed at senior professionals from academia, central banks and research institutions. Candidates should be internationally recognised experts in their field of research who wish to take a period of leave or a sabbatical from their current place of work.

The aims of the programme are

  • to promote policy-relevant research that meets the highest academic standards;
  • to offer research staff at the ECB the opportunity to gain exposure to, and expertise in, the most recent advances in economic research;
  • to give prominent scholars the opportunity to gain an insight into the policy-making environment of the ECB.

About the fellowship

Successful candidates will be offered an assignment for a period of between two and eleven months to conduct economic research within Directorate General Research (DG/R).

While at the ECB, research fellows are expected to complete a research paper of a theoretical or empirical nature for presentation at internal seminars and external conferences, and for publication in the ECB’s Working Paper Series and a leading refereed journal. A proposal for a research project must be presented by candidates as part of the application procedure.

Research fellows conduct their activities at the ECB’s premises in Frankfurt am Main and are encouraged to interact with ECB staff, both in DG/R and in other business areas. They have access to the ECB library and to the computing and statistical facilities necessary to conduct their research. The call for papers is published in the first quarter of each year.

Interested in applying for the 2017-2018 programme? Respond by 30 April 2017 to the Call for research proposals.

Wim Duisenberg Fellows 2017

  • Enrique Mendoza, University of Pennsylvania
  • Mariassunta Giannetti, Stockholm School of Economics

Past Wim Duisenberg Fellows

  • Roel Beetsma, University of Amsterdam
  • Kenneth West, University of Wisconsin
  • Lars Svensson, Stockholm School of Economics
  • Francesco Bianchi, Duke University
  • Enrico Perotti, University of Amsterdam
  • Suresh M. Sundaresan, Columbia Business School
  • Xavier Vives, IESE Business School
  • Reint Gropp, European Business School
  • Christian Haefke, Institute for Advanced Studies
  • Alexander Michaelides, University of Cyprus
  • John Muelbauer, Oxford University
  • Tao Zha, Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta
  • Michael Burda, Humboldt University
  • Bruno Biais, Toulouse University
  • Alex Cukierman, Tel Aviv University
  • Paul de Grauwe, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven
  • Lars Ljungqvist, Stockholm School of Economics
  • Albert Marcet, Universitat Pompeu Fabra
  • Philippe Weil, Université Libre de Bruxelles (ECARES)