European Central Bank - eurosystem
Search Options
Home Media Explainers Research & Publications Statistics Monetary Policy The €uro Payments & Markets Careers
Sort by

Annual publication of the "Preliminary list of Monetary Financial Institutions in the accession countries" (with reference date as at the end of December 2001)

28 June 2002

The European Central Bank (ECB) is today publishing the "Preliminary list of Monetary Financial Institutions in the accession countries" (generally referred to as the "Preliminary list"). This publication relates to the Monetary Financial Institution (MFI) sector in the accession countries as at the end of December 2001 and is the second annual publication in the series.

The aim of the "Preliminary list" is to produce, for statistical purposes, a comprehensive and homogeneous list of MFIs in the 12 countries that are currently preparing for membership of the European Union (Bulgaria, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Romania, Slovakia and Slovenia). In order to achieve a high degree of consistency and comparability of information, all countries contributing to the "Preliminary list" have adhered to the ECB's harmonised definition of MFIs as far as this is possible within their statistical frameworks.

The accurate recording of the MFI population in the accession countries is seen as a particularly important contribution to the conceptual and practical harmonisation work necessary to prepare the compilation of monetary aggregates, which are harmonised with euro area definitions.

The "Preliminary list" can be downloaded from the "MFIs and assets" section of the ECB's website. Hard copies will be available on written request from the accession country national central banks, from the EU national central banks and from the ECB.


European Central Bank

Directorate General Communications

Reproduction is permitted provided that the source is acknowledged.

Media contacts