European Central Bank - eurosystem
Search Options
Home Media Explainers Research & Publications Statistics Monetary Policy The €uro Payments & Markets Careers
Sort by

Decision of the European Central Bank appointing the members of the Anti-Fraud Committee

19 November 1999

The Governing Council of the ECB has decided to appoint the three members of the independent Anti-Fraud Committee which will enforce an anti-fraud scheme within the ECB. As stipulated in the ECB Decision on fraud prevention of 7 October 1999, the Anti-Fraud Committee shall be composed of three independent persons of recognised standing and professional experience in the fields of central banking, justice and policing. The following persons have been nominated and have accepted their appointment as of 1 January 2000:

John L. Murray (born in Limerick in 1943) studied at Crescent College, Rockwell College, University College Dublin as well as the King's Inns, and was awarded the degree of Doctor of Laws, honoris causa, by the University of Limerick in 1993. From 1967 to 1999 he was in private practice as barrister and senior counsel at the Bar of Ireland, and was subsequently appointed Attorney General of Ireland, judge of the Court of Justice of the European Communities, member of the Irish Council of State and a visiting lecturer at various prestigious universities in Europe and the United States. He is now Judge of the Supreme Court of Ireland and a visiting professor at the University of Louvain.

Erik Ernst Nordholt (born in Beverwijk in 1939) studied sociology at the University of Groningen. He started his police career in 1959. Since 1987, and for a period of more than 10 years, he was the Commissioner of the Amsterdam Police Force. He is currently adviser to the Minister for the Interior of the Netherlands.

Maria Schaumayer (born in Graz in 1931) studied economics at the Universities of Vienna and Innsbruck. She began her career in industry and banking in 1953. From 1965 to 1989 she held posts as a member of the City and County Government of Vienna, the City and County Council of Vienna, the Executive Board of Österreichische Kommunalkredit AG and the Executive Board of ÖMV AG, which operates in the Austrian oil, gas and petrochemicals industry. From 1990 to 1995 she was Governor of the Oesterreichische Nationalbank. She now sits on various boards in Austria and the United States.

The text of the Decision of the ECB appointing the members of the Anti-Fraud Committee of the ECB will be published in the Official Journal of the European Communities on 20 November 1999.


European Central Bank

Directorate General Communications

Reproduction is permitted provided that the source is acknowledged.

Media contacts