Submission deadline: 15 April 2016

Call for Papers

Task force on global trade: Understanding the weakness in global trade: what is the new normal?

The workshop on the task force on global trade is jointly organized by the European Central Bank and the Banque de France and will be held in Paris on 20 June, 2016.

Global trade growth was very weak over the past four years. While global trade grew at approximately twice the rate of GDP prior to the Great Recession, this trade elasticity has since declined to below unity. This raises the question to what extent the change in the relationship between global trade and global economic activity is a temporary phenomenon or constitutes a lasting structural change.


Against this background, the temporary IRC Task Force on Global Trade has been created to analyze the determinants of the global trade weakness. The goal of the workshop is to present and discuss recent advances in our understanding of global trade dynamics. During the workshop, a preliminary draft of the Task Force report will also be presented.

Suggested topics

We welcome any contributions on the topic, particularly those that focus on the following 4 areas:

  • Topic 1: Empirical studies (structural or reduced-form) that quantify the impact of cyclical and structural factors on the global trade elasticity.
  • Topic 2: Studies that focus on structural breaks and time-variation in the relationship between trade and economic activity
  • Topic 3: Empirical and theoretical contributions that focus on the role of trade in services, import intensities of demand components, the geographical composition of trade, commodity prices, price elasticities, exchange rate pass through, as well as changes in global value chains.
  • Topic 4: Empirical and theoretical contributions that focus on the role of trade barriers and financial barriers on international trade flows.

Please email your paper or an extended abstract by 15 April 2016 to:

Contact persons

The event is hosted by the Banque de France. Costs will not be covered for central bank participants.

Organizing committee

  • Matthieu Bussière (Banque de France)
  • Bruno Cabrillac (Banque de France)
  • Martin Gächter (European Central Bank)
  • Laurent Ferrara (Banque de France)
  • Alexander Al-Haschimi (European Central Bank)
  • Stelios Makrydakis (European Central Bank)
  • Frank Moss (European Central Bank)
  • Walter Steingress (Banque de France)