Search Options
Home Media Explainers Research & Publications Statistics Monetary Policy The €uro Payments & Markets Careers
Sort by

Supervisory board members appointed

7 March 2014

The Governing Council of the European Central Bank (ECB) has appointed three ECB representatives to the Supervisory Board of the Single Supervisory Mechanism (SSM).

The three members are Sirkka Hämäläinen, Julie Dickson and Ignazio Angeloni. Ms Hämäläinen was a Member of the Executive Board of the ECB from 1998 to 2003. Ms Dickson is currently Superintendent of Financial Institutions at the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI), the primary Canadian regulator and supervisor of the financial industry. Mr Angeloni is currently Director General Macro-Prudential Policy and Financial Stability at the ECB.

The Supervisory Board is undertaking the preparatory work in advance of the ECB assuming its role as the competent authority for the largest euro area banks in November 2014. It is responsible for planning and carrying out the ECB’s supervisory tasks and proposing complete draft decisions for adoption by the Governing Council.

For media enquiries, please contact Rolf Benders, tel.: +49 69 1344 6925.


European Central Bank

Directorate General Communications

Reproduction is permitted provided that the source is acknowledged.

Media contacts