Euro map

The European Central Bank (ECB) is the central bank for Europe's single currency, the euro. The ECB’s main task is to maintain the euro's purchasing power and price stability in the euro area. The euro area comprises the 19 European Union countries that have introduced the euro since 1999.

Explainer: What is a central bank?

The mission of the ECB

Our mission is to serve Europe’s citizens by maintaining price stability and safeguarding the value of the euro. Find out more about mission of the ECB, the Eurosystem and the Single Supervisory Mechanism.

Mission statement

What are the ECB’s tasks?

The ECB defines and implements monetary policy for the euro area and carries out a number of other tasks, including banking supervision.

Tasks of the ECB
ECB, ESCB and the Eurosystem

How the ECB is organised

The ECB is an official EU institution at the core of the Eurosystem and the Single Supervisory Mechanism. Find out about its organisational and governance structure and learn who’s who in the Governing Council, the main decision-making body.

Legal framework

Accountability towards European citizens

The ECB works for the citizens of Europe and is formally accountable to them through the European Parliament. The European Union Treaties specify the different channels of accountability, which include the Annual Report.

Annual Report