There are seven different denominations of euro banknotes: €5, €10, €20, €50, €100, €200 and €500. The first series of notes is gradually being replaced by the Europa series.

All the notes are legal tender throughout the euro area.

Banknote denominations

Take a look at the first series and some of the Europa series of banknotes. Each denomination has its own distinctive colour as well as an image of an architectural style, ranging from classical through to 20th century.

Online survey on the quality of euro banknotes

Your feedback is essential to make sure that the euro banknotes in circulation are of the best possible quality. Participate in this short online survey and tell us what you think about the quality of your banknotes!


Leaflets, brochures, posters and other materials are available online for the public and for cash professionals. Printed copies may be available in certain cases.

Banknote security

Euro banknotes include a number of security features. Just feel them, look at them and tilt them.