The T2S community keeps on growing

On 22 June 2010 KELER, the Hungarian central securities depository (CSD), signed (see document) the T2S Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with the Eurosystem. In doing so, it joined the 29 other CSDs in 27 countries who had previously signed the MoU, formally confirming their strong support for T2S.

This group of CSDs included not only all those in the euro area, but also eight CSDs located in EU Member States outside the euro area – Denmark, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Romania, Sweden and the United Kingdom – and three located in countries outside the EU – Iceland, Norway and Switzerland. The CSDs of Denmark, Norway and Sweden – with the support of their central banks and the market – also signed up for settlement in T2S in their domestic currency, as well as in euro.

The signing of the MoU by KELER marks a further step in T2S’s ambition to become the future settlement infrastructure for Europe.

We warmly welcome KELER to the T2S community.